Happy Birthday to Me… Almost: Yarn Along

My MeritanceStill… Going… On… And…. On… And…. On…  I had intended to have it done by my birthday this weekend but… uhhhh, no.  Not happening.

It is partly my fault, or rather: it is all my fault.  I decided to lengthen my Meritance from the sensible hip length cardi it is patterned as into a Long-Cardigan-of-Epic-Proportions (LCOEP).  This thing reaches almost my knees. At 5’9″ that is no mean feat.  Naturally I got bored half way through and finished two other knitted projects I have yet to share.  Then on top of all that 99% of my day is spent multi tasking.  That makes making real daily progress on a LCOEP difficult.  But now I am about 10 cast off stitches and some finishing away from it still being too hot to wear till winter!

I am currently reading Al Capone Does my Shirts by Gennifer Choldenko.  It is a fabulous book intended for younger children perhaps 3-5th grade but J. and I are using this semester as a platform for creative writing and critical thinking in her 7th grade home-school lessons.  As reading material it is far too young for J. but the quality of the writing makes it great for a learning spring board.  So after a trip to Alcatraz (which we frequently call Azkaban my mistake) we have started our school year with a bang!

Linking up with Ginny today for a Yarn Along.

xx Jo

15 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me… Almost: Yarn Along

  1. Your cardigan looks great so far! I’d love a knee-length cardigan, but the idea keeps intimidating me-and I’m only 5’4″! I read Al Capone Does My Shirts in middle school, and I remember enjoying it a lot-enjoy!

  2. Haha I get my mum to knit all my cardigans because I’m also tall and also prone to boredom with big projects! Love this style though, yay for pockets! 🙂

  3. Pingback: J’s Cardi F.O.- Yarn Along | Sweet Little Wood

Leave a Reply

