The Monday Project: Drink Tea, Create, Sleep, Repeat Wall Art

Happy first Monday of a brand spanking new year.

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

Have you made resolutions?  I stink at resolutions: I am bound to forget it immediately and manage to achieve only the opposite of my intentions by the next new year’s resolutions.  I would be better of making a resolution strictly forbidding the thing I actually want to do like:

“I will absolutely not manage to get my crafting room tidied up this year. “

So instead I have a little sign to hang in my craft room just to remind me of the things I really need to do :

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

This project is really fun to do, cheap and looks pretty awesome when finished! 

____________________________

Get together:

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

A clip float frame  I found mine for $2.00 at Walmart

Gold Spray Paint  (or silver or whatever color you like) $3.25 – I like Krylon because of the amazing spray nozzle.

Gold Scrapbook Card (or silver or whatever color you like) mine is Recollections and I got it at Michaels $1.49- on sale

Contrasting Scrapbook card: glitter looks cool but is annoying to cut  $1.49- on sale

__________________________

Pull apart your float frame and spray the little plastic frame edges.

Cut your back ground card (I used gold) to letter size.

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

Now for the fun part!

To cut by hand print the black and white free-bee JPEG from the zip file below (it is in reverse already so you can print it directly onto the back of your contrasting card or onto printer paper.  If you have a Shilouette or Cricut with SVG cutting software this is where you get to show off and cut the free SVG file in no time!  If you just cannot be dealing with the cutting at all there is a color print version too.  As previously: feel free to use and share the free file but please don’t sell anything made from my files without prior permission and please give credit to Sweet Little Wood if you share the files.  Thank you darlings!

Free SVG and Printables for “Drink Tea, Create, Sleep. Repeat” Wall Art

To cut the design by hand I printed onto printer paper and then cut down my contrasting card to letter size.  I lined up the paper and card on my cutting board and taped down the edges of the paper trapping the card between my printed design and the cutting board.  Use a really sharp craft knife (unlike mine!!!) and a ruler for the strait lines to make the process much faster.

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

Once you have cut your design make sure your float frame glass is clean.  I  found out the hard way that Walmart’s frames have a plastic back that scratches super easy… so just be aware of any plastic parts and clean **cautiously**.  You could glue the card pieces together but I rather like the look of the two cards just sandwiched together: some areas gap just a little and create added depth.  A useful trick to get the two sheets of card lined up in the middle of the frame is to place the glass face down a cutting board and use it’s lines to guide placing the card before putting the backing piece on top of the card.  Lining it up by eye was really really unsuccessful for me.

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

Slide on the sides and Bobs your Uncle!

"Drink tea, Create, Sleep Repeat" float frame poster tutorial @ Sweet Little Wood

Drink Tea, Create, Sleep, REPEAT… That is my year planned out! Simple!

I’m linking up with Awsome Things Tuesday and over at Creating My Way to Success.

xx Joanna

4 thoughts on “The Monday Project: Drink Tea, Create, Sleep, Repeat Wall Art

  1. I love that project. I do not have the patience or cutting dexterity to cut that out myself. And I think it is a perfectly reasonable resolution to set for yourself – simple and happy, who could ask for more?

    • Thank you! I totally understand about the cutting by hand its not for everyone… which is why your comment prompted me to add a strait up printable JPEG to the zip. Thank you for the help! x

  2. Joanna, what a fantastic project! Thank you for sharing & the freebie! I really really REALLY need to drink more green tea & less black tea/caff coffee. I went caff-free for 2 weeks prior to the holidays & it was tough…I was falling asleep in the afternoon for like a week. That has to be a sign that I’m not giving my body enough rest & just getting by with the aid of stimulants! Beautiful artwork–such talent. I’m definitely a “font-snob” & I find your lettering to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

